Love at First Hike

10440110_10204276488496362_6282854924193687779_n

View of Blueskin Bay from the trail

“Oh my gosh, guys! Look at this! No seriously, look at it! Are you looking?” We were still eight minutes away from getting dropped off at the foot of the trail that would lead us up Mount Cargill, and I already had my face pressed up against the car window. I may have been slightly enthusiastic about the views, because Megan finally pulled the car over and let me jump out to take a photo.

“No seriously guys, I think this is one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen!” I declared for maybe the one-hundredth time in the last five minutes.

“Alyssa, we haven’t even started hiking yet!” Hira and Taylor reminded me with a laugh as we all piled back into the car. No matter, I was still supremely impressed and quite certain that the views could not possibly get any more beautiful than they already were.

View of Blueskin Bay through the trees

View of Blueskin Bay through the trees

A few short minutes into our hike, and I realized that I couldn’t have been more mistaken. Steep wooden steps led us through a mesh of ferns and crowds of leafy green shrubs. Trees arched towards each other overhead, bent in an embrace that filtered the sun into soft patches of light that speckled our path. Every few minutes, the covering of trees would thin and the vegetation would fall away just enough for us to catch glimpses of Blueskin Bay’s majestic mountains draped in silver fog.

As the trail finally subsided into a more gradual ascent towards the summit, I could feel my excitement mounting and my pace begin to quicken. Suddenly, the path forked in different directions, with the branch to the left leading towards the Organ Pipe Rocks, and the other heading towards the top of the mountain. Although it could take us four days to decide what kind of food we wanted to eat for dinner, it took us only a matter of seconds to decide that a detour to the Organ Pipes was a must. From our rocky vantage point, we were able to soak in uninterrupted views of what lay below us. Fueled by our desire to see more, we eventually pushed onwards towards the top of the mountain.

Hira and I at the Organ Pipe Rocks

Hira and I at the Organ Pipe Rocks

When Hira and Taylor stopped for some quick photos, I fervently scurried ahead. As the path bent towards the right, I spotted a small, faded sign subtly pointing in the opposite direction towards Butters Peak. Although the path was overgrown, the openness of the rocks at the top promised another clear view of all of our surroundings.

“Hira! Taylor! I’m going up the trail to the left!” I shouted, already bushwhacking my way through to the top. A few moments later, Hira and Taylor had made their way up behind me, and we found ourselves with a 360 degree view of our surroundings. The Blueskin Bay was once again revealed to us, and the Otago Peninsula finally came into sight.

Otago Peninsula from Butters Peak

Panorama of the Otago Peninsula from Butters Peak

Standing at the top of the Peak, the wind whipping around us as we took in Dunedin in all its glory, I was hit suddenly by the full force of an emotion that I had only been catching snippets of for the past few weeks. It was what I had felt for a brief moment when I first glimpsed the snowcapped mountains towering over the fields of sheep as we zoomed along on the train. It was what I had felt as I sat around the table with my flatmates, eating tacos and laughing so hard that I lost my breath. And it was what I had felt at every gap in the trees as we scaled the mountain. But here, on Butters Peak, I finally knew what it was. It was love.

10492589_10204276494936523_5313832146960820955_n

Panorama of Blueskin Bay from Butters Peak

It was the kind of love that made me feel completely content when I was home in Boston, and the kind of love that made me thrilled to return to Richmond each semester. It was the kind of love that makes someone happy despite the challenges. It was the kind of love that takes a place and makes it a home. I couldn’t claim that I would never again feel frustrated by a pad of Sticky notes that cost $8.99 rather than $2.49, or that I would never get sick of rolling out of bed when it is only 27 degrees inside, but I became certain of one thing: I will miss New Zealand when it is time for me to go. My hope is that, at the end of it all, I will look back and know that I cherished my moments here, and made the most of everything that came my way.

10352092_10204276496936573_366504162064084810_n

Standing on Butters Peak

4 thoughts on “Love at First Hike

  1. I love that last photo of you Lys! It’s like you’re holding up the sky. Also I’m now having flashbacks to visiting Australia and confronting the fact that every cup of coffee I’d consume would come at a $10 price tag. Talk about culture shock! Good news is it looks like you’ve noticed that in NZ, too, the experiences are priceless. Love you!

    • Thank you so much, Lex!(: I couldn’t have put it better myself; the experience of being abroad truly is priceless! I am so happy to be here! I hope you are still having a fabulous summer ❤ Miss you and love you lots!!

  2. Beautiful story and images Alyssa. Although I can’t relate to the exact sights you were privileged to witness, I can certainly identify with those feelings of “love” in the purest sense. The feeling that everything is exactly as it should be in the present moment.

    Sometimes we choose to follow the trail that has been planned out well in advance. And sometimes, we depart from that plan, and bushwhack our way to unexpected beauty. You have helped make that observation perfectly clear 😉

    By the way, nice pack, I have an Osprey myself that I need to get out once the weather cools off a bit here. I can’t wait to read about your next adventure, thanks for sharing!

    • Thank you, Dave!(: I feel so lucky that no matter where I find myself in this country, I never stop learning about NZ, life, and myself! And I absolutely love my Osprey! I’ve found that it’s the perfect pack for all of my adventures! I hope that you get lots of use out of yours once the weather cools down!(: Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a comment